Educational Technology Graphic Definition

For our final module in EDTECH 501, we read the first chapter of our course textbook, Educational Technology: A Definition with Commentary (2008), and were assigned the making of a graphic to represent our interpretation of that definition. As I took notes and wrote down the key phrases of the chapter, the cyclical nature of edtech really asserted itself and helped shape my graphic.

First, we must study the issues and the available tools through both a research-based focus (using methods such as qualitative and quantitative studies, philosophical and historical investigations, and system and fault analyses) and a reflective practice approach.  That study will then help us design the appropriate learning environment for our goals.

Second, practitioners create, use, and manage technologies appropriate for their needs. The goal is to help students gain a deep level of understanding of the subject they’re studying instead of a shallower knowledge that is a common outcome of more “traditional”-based methods.

Third, issues and problems that arose in the practice stage are addressed by improving the usage of various tools, with the ultimate goal of becoming as efficient as possible (and “efficiency” will vary depending on the goal). In order to improve, we must go back to study other research, as well as evaluate what we’ve done using our practitioner’s eye. Thus, the cycle starts over again.

Overall, these steps must be taken with an ethical mindset to ensure that the appropriate tools are being used; no gender, ethnic, racial, or religious stereotypes are being reinforced; copyright law and fair use doctrine are being adhered to; and that no harm comes to the students, society, or the profession by the approach(es) used.

This is what I attempted to encapsulate in my graphic. I used Adobe Illustrator, as well as some icons I have previously purchased through Creative Market. I thinks this is my favorite assignment out of the entire class, because I feel like I (finally!) have a clear understanding of what educational technology is.

The one thing I didn’t include in my graphic (that I’m just now realizing) are examples of what educational technology is. I supposed I focused more on the process of edtech than the reality. If I had more time (and energy) I would redo the graphic, but I’m satisfied enough with it as it stands that I won’t update it.

edtech definition

Click to expand!

Leave a comment